Workplace Bullying: A Victim’s Story

2012_bsl_WrkplcBullies_09I recently happened on this story on “The Workplace Bullying Institute” website, it caught my attention due to the similarity to my own experiences of “Workplace Bullying”. As we are all human of the same generic make up, it’s safe to assume traumatic events and experiences will have the same dramatic effect on us all, clearly indicating the purpose of the silent weapon “Bullying”. This is Teri’s story of her experiences with Workplace Bullying, as told to Kalola of The Workplace Bullying Institute.
Two months will mark the year anniversary of my disillusionment from employment. I continue to have many sleepless nights, suffer from depression and am frankly scared to even look for work. For anyone who thinks bullying is a playground taunting toward the weak or society’s outcasts – think again. It can be a subversive, calculating and cruel breakdown of a good person/employee’s belief in themselves and their abilities.
2012_cio_OfficeBullying_05For a bit over eight years I worked in a large corporation as an Executive Assistant. For the greater part of that time I was considered one of the best – independent and proactive with unquestionable integrity. Then my organizational structure changed/grew and 4 other Assistants joined the department.
Over the course of the next two years one of these Assistants (peer) lied, set up “failure traps”, twisted my best traits into weaknesses and effectively gained the support of the other Assistants and her Executive. The mob grew fast. It was shockingly evil and efficient. And I was shockingly naive for far too long! Not until it snowballed into my PIP (performance improvement program) did I fight back. Defending myself at this point fueled the bully’s fire. Speaking with my boss put him in a difficult position with his own peers (the bully’s bosses). Bringing in HR not only was ineffective, but strengthened my reputation as a liability to the company.
page4-5-003After living under these circumstances for months (some incidents got quite ridiculous: one involved Ms. Bully writing an email to HR and my boss because I hadn’t put an envelope in a travel packet, breaking some unknown, unspoken and un-requested protocol; Ms. Bully actually gave my name and phone number to a police officer as a possible suspect in a crime!) I put in my resignation. My boss and I worked out a 6-week transition period so I could train a replacement and find another job within the company. By this point I was a broken, anxious, emotional wreck but I still had the hope to stay within the company. I had multiple interviews during those six weeks and for the month following my official last day that went very well, and then mysteriously disappeared.
TLW-workplace-bullying1-432x272I know there can only be two or three people in my life who actually believe this blow by blow and those are the select few of my closest friends whom I worked with and confided in at the time. My poor, dear husband and family have only seen it’s devastating affect on me.
Society will only start believing and understanding when stories like mine combine with other types of workplace bullying – education must include types, prevention, interference techniques and recovery.
Companies will only start taking workplace bullying seriously when a potentially large monetary penalty is involved – if discrimination is illegal, workplace bullying should be illegal.empower-me

4 thoughts on “Workplace Bullying: A Victim’s Story

  1. I experienced this! I was at a job where I was “temporary” for the first year. They had tenure and it was impossible for them to get fired, but I could be fired at their whim. So the manager, supervisor and another manager teamed up together to make me jump hoops. They lied, they yelled at me, they told me to do one thing, then said no do another. I was sick to my stomach. Finally, they fired me, and it was sweet freedom.
    Thanks for bringing up this topic.

    Like

Comments are closed.