Gay? Straight? Bi? None of the above

I hereby agree with this article and identify as Asexual because I have not had a sex drive for more than 10 years and have not really had a desire for sex my whole life. The following Article shades some light on exactly what Asexuality is.
“I’ve never had sex with anyone. I don’t really feel like it’s something I’m missing out on anything. I just don’t have the desire or the drive.”

What if you were never attracted to anyone? What if you had no sexual desire for another person at all?

SBS current affairs show The Feed met 22-year-old Johanna Qualmann, who defines herself as asexual.

Like so many of us, Qualmann says she knew from a young age that she was different. But unlike most, a sexual attraction never happened for her. Asexuality is a different concept to someone who is celibate and perhaps waiting for the right person. People who are asexual have a low of non-existent sexual orientation.

“I’ve never looked at someone and thought ‘oh they’re really hot, I’d like to have sex with them,’” Qualmann explains. She hopes that in future people will recognise asexuality as a genuine sexual orientation.

“Just like being gay or straight, it does form a big part of people’s identities,” she adds.

“When asexuality becomes more visible hopefully all those people who feel stressed out about who they are and that they’re not sexually attracted to people can start to realise that there is a sexual orientation like that.”

4784508968632320 (2)

empower-shape1

One thought on “Gay? Straight? Bi? None of the above

  1. HIV/AIDS is a very touchy subject for me, in 1982 when I ran away from my marriage to Toronto, knowing my X-wifie is watching right now, it’s that old saying we all hate and know well “It’s not you, It’s me” and rightly so, but anyway back to Toronto they were the best days of my life, living in the Downtown Village, it was so liberating and free, to work, live and socialize with your own people’s. I forgot there was an outside world, it was like we had our own country, and one could say we did. There was no discrimination or name calling, hatred or anything else, I felt as free as the wind and felt very happy and satisfied, I met 100’s of awesome people, which the majority would become best friends and or colleges… but out of all those friends I met during my travels back then, I am ashamed and it also saddens me to say the closest of those friends, all except for one I lost them all to “AIDS” it’s not a pleasant or easy thing to watch your friends slowly die, I just wish they hadden left me behind to face this cruel world alone. R.I.P Richard Hiscock, Brian Carol and Terry House and all the others to many to name, you are in my thoughts, I shall never forget…..

Comments are closed.