The real meaning of bullying

disabilityDear Editor: It’s sad to see the actual meaning of bullying and fighting against bullying has changed in to something else. There is a difference between being bullied and teased. Being bullied means being treated poorly because of race, weight, their clothes, the way they talk or for their extraordinary intelligence — things for which they have no fault. Now I am reading more about kids and people who get teased because of their own fault. For example, if I made wrong choices and people around me began teasing me, I should take the responsibility instead of blaming everyone around me or committing suicide. The media should publish stories about those who get bullied and never thought of committing suicide and are now successful in their lives.
People like Michael Phelps, Sandra Bullock and Justin Timberlake, who were bullied and outcast but are now successful. They got inspiration from that hate instead of it finishing their life.
Is this really something we want to spread? Do something wrong and when you get caught, instead of making it right, start trying suicide attempts, get attention from media so others will do the same for attention.
We should be proud that we are living in a country where these topics and problems get recognized.
I was born in a culture where these problems never got attention. I was born with a disability and started getting bullied at six.
I was never accepted by that society, but I came out a strong and positive person.
It was not my fault I was born this way, but in that society the majority of people think if you are born with a disability God has issues with you and you are bad luck.
It was difficult to handle, but I did, and all without telling anything to my mom, because I didn’t want her to get hurt more as my disability was already a pain in her life.
Instead, I started spreading more smile and love, looking at the positive aspects of my life. I started looking towards those who love me instead of who those who bullied me.
Today I am an encouragement for my children.
We should encourage the stories of those who will leave a positive effect on our youth. This is my request to media, please before publishing any bullying story do check the background of why he or she got bullied? Is this his/her fault? Did they make the wrong choices and now people around them are teasing them, which is wrong too but that is not bullying.
We must help those kids who made wrong choices to change their life.
I am teaching my children that if someone bullies you, it means you have something they are extremely jealous of.
I am trying to teach them that it’s not you, it’s them. It’s their way to release their anger or look cool.
In the end, you are the one responsible for your good or bad deeds and they are responsible for their own.

by Samreen Junaid, Windsong, Tuesday, March 4, 2014

Related Articles:

Empower-shape

