Pink

one-my-size2 PINK~PINK~PINK~PINK~PINK~PINK~PINK 

me-pink2pinkfacePink is any of the colours between bluish red (purple) and red, of medium to high brightness and of low to moderate saturation. Commonly used for Valentine’s Day and Easter, Pink is sometimes referred to as “the colour of love“, “the artist Pink” and now “Pink Shirt Day” in Canada falling this year on Feb 22, 2017.

A little history on the use of the word Pink

The colour “Pink” was first recorded in the late 17th century. Although Pink is roughly considered just as a tint of red, most variations of Pink lie between red, white and magenta colors. This pink-smileymeans that the Pink’s hue is somewhat between red and magenta. Lucretius used the word to describe the dawn in his epic poem “On the Nature of Things” (De rerum natura). Roseus is a Latin word meaning “rosy” or “Pink.”

My Thoughts on Pink Shirt Day

I first heard about the boys in Nova Scotia in 2009 after discovering an article on-line, since which I started to follow. After a couple years and having the opportunity to  read and learn more from past articles in the archives of Pink Shirt Day, there was one detail that seem to have got lost since the first article I read. It’s all about awareness and prevention of Bullying above all else but I noticed that one main detail from the original story over time seemed to had somehow got omitted smilie=countryfrom the original story line, which added to the soul purpose of “Pink Shirt Day”. In the first few articles the Grade 9 boy who was being bullied for wearing a Pink shirt to school was a member of the “LGBTQI Community” and Two Straight boys stood up for him, this is a fine example of good character, something that all youth should know or hear about, it needs to be spoken out loud. Once realizing this I became more interested and involved and started to follow along. I soon realized I was right and not everyone was aware of the complete history that lead up to that day in 2007, we need not forget how and why “Pink Shirt Day” was started, and make sure history remembers.

I posted my first article “Speak out! Stop bullying: Wear pink on April 10” for “DayofPink” on April 10, 2013, after realizing just how far the “Pink Campaign” has actually travelled. streghtieIt’s now known around the world as “The International Day of Pinkthe International Day against Bullying, Discrimination, Homophobia, Transphobia, and Transmisogyny, this year falling on April 13, 2016.

I would like to close by commending the two youth, in their mid 20’s now and all those of you who have dedicated your time and efforts to the “Pink Shirt Day Campaign” and the fight against Bullying because “Awesome” don’t get any better then you!

Article posted Feb 21, 2016 – last updated Feb 21, 2017 by Terry.K

footer - pinky

footer - rasie

PinkShirtDay.ca

DayofPink.org

B.P Archives: Pink Shirt Day


The New Bullying Prevention © 2016

Back to Top

love animated gifs letters photo collage photo flash color HD banner flash mask effects shareware freeware download i love you kiss love banners decor websites blogs facebook HD

smileline1

footer-bp

One thought on “Pink

  1. #MyPinkShirtPromise ~ ❤ To Promote Love Kindness & Respect for All Humanity! ❤

    If I may touch on the topic of "Likes & follows", after noticing today that on facebook we now have a choice to like, love, wow a post and so on, so I have to ask, what is this fascination that's seems to be the norm and a goal with social media? do you win a prise for the most likes or followers, is there an attached accomplishment associated or some other form of reward that I am not aware of?

    After three years on social media, and I'm only just guessing, across three facebook pages, wordpress (The New B.P), Pintrest, Tumblr and LinkedIn I have well over 100,000 likes and followers.
    This was never my goal or a concern for me, only getting the message heard and out there is what was, and still is the soul purpose of why I do what I do.

    I am not in competition with no one, nor am I better than anyone else, we are all equally deserving of Kindness, Love, respect and to be treated with dignity.

    This is the one and only message I have been trying to convey over the course of the last few years and I will continue to do so even if I only have ten followers because in reality more than 100,000 of you from 145 counties stop by.

    This result shows me that my goal and now #MyPinkShirtPromise to spread #Kindness and #Gratitude to all humanity, to #Love and #Respect each other, and the Awareness of #BullingPrevention, #Ethics #Equality, & #EqualRights for one and all is reaching it's intended destination, THE WORLD.

    Thank you for being there, have an Awesome #PinkShirtDay, how will you show #Kindness today?…lotsa Luv…Terry.K

    BE STRONG BE PROUD BE YOU 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.