It’s Always Good To Make Others Laugh

laugh2

“If we learn to open our hearts, anyone, including the people who drive us crazy, can be our teacher.” ~ Pema Chodron

I want to take you back to Jan 10, 1977, it was a simple time, I was still in High School half way through the 10 Grade. I remember to this day, one incident that occurred that left me totally confused and hurt but a chuckle for sure.

I’m not really sure what day of the week it was but what happened as the end result of what I thought was a good deed totally shocked me, It goes like this.

670px-Revive-Dry-Play-Doh-Step-1.jpgThere were 29 students in my class, a even mixture of boys and girls, the day in question , I came into the procession of some play-doh, green to be exact. I’m sure we all remember play-doh, the magical things you could create with it was endless.

We were going through a transition with a substitute Teacher Mr Drover, whom we nick named Mr Grover, as a fill in, what we were doing was not logo_phpBBreally related to the suggested learning schedule and I was sort of bored,  anyway I took a small piece of the play-doh and rolled it into a little ball, small enough to fit up my nose while no one was noticing.

I started by pulling it out of my nose in a long string and putting the other end, in my mouth, when a couple of classmates noticed and started laughing, I quickly hid the play-doh as the teacher was reading and looked up at us, after just giving us a look, he continued to read.

sleeping-in-classI did it a few more times, trying different things with the play-doh with the end result, laughter, until the teacher looked up and caught me. He told me to bring my desk to the front of the class and turn it around facing the class, what he assumed to be punishment, I thought to be an audience, I’m in my glory.

Well needless to say I had the whole room in laughter, until he turned again and caught me and said in a firm voice, go stand out side the classroom door until the bell rings, I obeyed. After the period ended he took me to the office to see the principle, Mr Penny I believe at the time, anyway because it wasn’t my first visit to his office, he simply told me to leave, I was now suspend indefinitely, in other words don’t come back.

a.baa-wivf-wiv-wpeoiv-wpvn-wpeiuvbNow I’m walking home fearing what my parents would say and think of me, trying to sneak in but as soon as I got in the door I encountered my mother, she was full of questions, asking what are you doing home and why are you crying, what happened?

I asked her why she lied to me, she asked, how did I lie to you? I said, you told me “it’s always Good to make others laugh” she said that’s not a lie, more people will like you. I said, then I don’t understand, I made everybody laugh but I got kicked out of school, never to go back, and that’s why I’m crying (because I liked school).

17yearsold2My parents did resolve the matter, and I returned to school that September in the fall to complete my grade 10 all over again, but not without my parents begging for my reinstatement to the School Board.

In the end, after realizing my mistake, she said, it is good to make others laugh and never stop doing that, just be more aware of where you are and your surrounding.

I was disciplined many times during my years in high school by the staff, and every time was because I made others smile and laugh! I still believe laughter is the best medicine, how ironic that laughter was a bad thing and didn’t catch on in the schools over the years but it’s opposite did “BULLYING” a very bad thing, and nobody cared to resolve that!

my-youth-years2

wpengine4

Best. Boot Camp. Ever.

2016 Wake Up Profitable Boot Camp for Business Owners

Click on the image below to learn more

excellerate2

Farmington Hills, Michigan

Monday-Tuesday, April 25-26,2016


The New Bullying Prevention © 2016

Back to Top

love animated gifs letters photo collage photo flash color HD banner flash mask effects shareware freeware download i love you kiss love banners decor websites blogs facebook HD

smileline1

footer-bp

One thought on “It’s Always Good To Make Others Laugh

  1. This is not the last post I will do from my days as a youth, from an early age I grew up learning discipline everyday, I was first a member of the Boys club named “Cubs” once I was to old for the club, I joined “Boy Scouts” then I moved on to “Air Cadets” after which I joined “The Canadian Forces Reserves”

    Like

Comments are closed.