Britain’s Got Talent: Nottinghamshire’s Combat Bullying children to take to the stage

5240174042677248


Founder of Combat Bullying Natalie Harvey
Founder of Combat Bullying Natalie Harvey
VICTIMS of bullying will take to the Britain’s Got Talent stage to raise awareness of what children face in schools today.

Nottinghamshire charity Combat Bullying will send 21 youngsters who have suffered at the hands of bullies to perform on the TV talent show this Sunday.

They bagged an audition after sending in a video of themselves performing their song Tell the Teacher, hoping to inspire others to come forward if they are being taunted or intimidated.

Bullying victim Charlie Turner, 9, of Toton, said: “I was bullied in year three and I don’t want this to happen to anyone else. This is why we made the song to stop it.”


8127893-noen-----n-n-n--n--nAt the start of November, Combat Bullying launched the country’s first free 24-hour anti-bullying helpline.


The song was originally made to coincide with the launch of the support service and anti-bullying month.



Sam Thorpe, 9, also of Toton, said: “I am doing this because I have been bullied in the first year of my school and I was really upset about it. When my mum told me about this I really wanted to do it.”

Natalie Harvey founded Combat Bullying having been bullied herself for having curly, ginger hair.

The 37-year-old mother-of-two said: “We are rehearsing every day this week and it is all going great.

“Some of the kids asked if we could send it to BGT. I wasn’t sure to begin with, but after sending a video we were asked to go for an audition.

“The kids have raised their own funds to rent a coach to get there and they are all working very hard.

“They are incredibly excited and it is taking over our lives. We just wanted to raise awareness and the song has already boosted our profile – which we use to help those who are being bullied.”



All those taking part have been practicing in the community room at Tesco Extra in Swiney Way, Toton.

Tesco community champion Tracie Basra, of Harrison Road, Stapleford, said everyone at the store was really excited to support such a worthy act.???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

The 50-year-old, whose 13-year-old daughter is a soloist, said: “My daughter was bullied when she was younger and it had a big impact on her.

“When she started with Combat Bullying she was very shy and didn’t speak a lot but now she has a solo part. They can go all the way but as long as it raises awareness of bullying that’s the main thing.”


courtesy of Nottingham Post – By DanRussell | Posted: December 01, 2014


admin-ajax

3 thoughts on “Britain’s Got Talent: Nottinghamshire’s Combat Bullying children to take to the stage

  1. I love that people are becoming more aware of how to stop bullying. When I was little I was told to just ignore them. I am glad that there are people who can help stop this horrible crime against others. I for one am joining the fight against bullying myself. There is a great book titled, “Creating Hate: How It Is Done, How To Destroy It: A Practical Handbook” by Nancy Omeara http://www.authornancyomeara.com/ that I would recommend to anyone else who is interested in joining the fight. It is a hard, fast read – packs a punch of great information!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.